LP#1501781 - Make patron name search diacritic/space insensitive.
authorDan Pearl <dpearl@cwmars.org>
Thu, 1 Oct 2015 13:49:17 +0000 (09:49 -0400)
committerMike Rylander <mrylander@gmail.com>
Tue, 9 Aug 2016 16:37:31 +0000 (12:37 -0400)
commit85a470ef7144265ee0a2618fafffeac8bb36b65d
tree13f851cbaec21e3515bc7e061e822511375d31b7
parent9bdfdf9a870dceb5baa92ddde6575b9a34a624fb
LP#1501781 - Make patron name search diacritic/space insensitive.

Diacritical marks may exist in the patron record, as they should, but
this makes patron name search difficult for librarians who may be
unfamiliar with all the special characters used and also how to elicit
them from a keyboard.  To ease this, accented characters will be
converted into their 'plain' analogs for comparison purposes.

So, for example, if the patron's last name is Ch├ívez, typing "Chavez"
in the Last Name box in Patron Search will match it.

Spaces in a name (like "De la Croix") will be squashed out so that
name would be matched by "Delacroix" or "De la Croix" or variants.

The librarian can enter the accented characters or not.

Signed-off-by: Dan Pearl <dpearl@cwmars.org>
Signed-off-by: Jason Stephenson <jason@sigio.com>
Signed-off-by: Mike Rylander <mrylander@gmail.com>
Open-ILS/src/sql/Pg/000.functions.general.sql
Open-ILS/src/sql/Pg/005.schema.actors.sql
Open-ILS/src/sql/Pg/950.data.seed-values.sql
Open-ILS/src/sql/Pg/create_database_extensions.sql
Open-ILS/src/sql/Pg/upgrade/XXXX.schema.patron_unaccent.sql [new file with mode: 0644]
docs/RELEASE_NOTES_NEXT/Client/accent_insensitive_patron_search [new file with mode: 0644]