Backup the existing opensrf config files before copying
authorDan Scott <dscott@laurentian.ca>
Mon, 7 Nov 2011 21:38:32 +0000 (16:38 -0500)
committerDan Scott <dscott@laurentian.ca>
Mon, 7 Nov 2011 21:43:07 +0000 (16:43 -0500)
Per a suggestion from Wolf Halton <wolf.halton@gmail.com>, create backup
versions of the opensrf configuration files when we're copying the
Evergreen example versions over, so that we can retrieve the Jabber user
names and passwords and domains from the backups (if necessary).

Signed-off-by: Dan Scott <dscott@laurentian.ca>
README

diff --git a/README b/README
index b6dbe70..d42c97a 100644 (file)
--- a/README
+++ b/README
@@ -277,8 +277,8 @@ following commands as the *opensrf* Linux account:
 
 [source, bash]
 ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-cp /openils/conf/opensrf_core.xml.example /openils/conf/opensrf_core.xml
-cp /openils/conf/opensrf.xml.example /openils/conf/opensrf.xml
+cp -b /openils/conf/opensrf_core.xml.example /openils/conf/opensrf_core.xml
+cp -b /openils/conf/opensrf.xml.example /openils/conf/opensrf.xml
 ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
 When you installed OpenSRF, you created four Jabber users on two
@@ -287,6 +287,12 @@ refer back to the OpenSRF README and, as the *opensrf* Linux account, edit the
 Evergreen version of the `opensrf_core.xml` file using the same Jabber users
 and domains as you used while installing and testing OpenSRF.
 
+[NOTE]
+The `-b` flag tells the `cp` command to create a backup version of the
+destination file. The backup version of the destination file has a tilde (`~`)
+appended to the file name, so if you have forgotten the Jabber users and
+domains, you can retrieve the settings from the backup version of the files.
+
 `eg_db_config.pl`, described in the following section, sets the database
 connection information in `opensrf.xml` for you.