Retain index granularity with minimal bloat
authorDan Scott <dscott@laurentian.ca>
Thu, 13 Jun 2013 05:16:23 +0000 (01:16 -0400)
committerDan Scott <dscott@laurentian.ca>
Thu, 27 Jun 2013 03:44:02 +0000 (23:44 -0400)
commit6205d9b43d60939fdc173ff77e661fa7ebe3dbdd
tree0d9f0afa6fb8b92adc2bfba72cec4beabf7a8c4e
parent68d9a2111f6087a1377ff4bed8fa5a485fec4932
Retain index granularity with minimal bloat

The previous approach to reducing index bloat arguably went too far, in
that analytics such as separately catalogued songs for an album were all
simply aggregated together in a single metabib.title_field_entry row,
rather than being added as separated metabib.title_field_entry rows for
each unique value.

To avoid the original problem of exact duplicate rows being inserted, we
now check for an existing matching row before inserting into the index.
A good test record is title "Cello concerto." which results in 1 title
proper row and 4 added entry title rows in metabib.title_field_entry
after this change.

Signed-off-by: Dan Scott <dscott@laurentian.ca>
Open-ILS/src/sql/Pg/030.schema.metabib.sql