Docs: Update login chapter
[working/Evergreen.git] / docs / admin / web_client-login.adoc
index c464a0d..c96ec40 100644 (file)
@@ -1,7 +1,32 @@
 Logging into Evergreen
 -----------------------
 
-Basic Login
+Registering a Workstation
+~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+anchor:register_workstation[]
+indexterm:[staff client, registering a workstation]
+
+Before logging into Evergreen, you must first register a workstation from your
+browser.
+
+[NOTE]
+===============
+You will need the permissions to add workstations to your network. If you do 
+not have these permissions, ask your system administrator for assistance. 
+===============
+
+. When you login for the first time, you will arrive at a screen asking that you
+register your workstation
++
+image::media/web_client_workstation_registration.png[]
++
+. Create a unique workstation name.
+. Click _Register_
+. After confirming the new workstation is listed in the _Workstations Registered
+With This Browser_ menu, click _Use Now_ to return to the login page. Your
+newly-registered workstation should be selected by default on the login page.
+
+Basic Login,
 ~~~~~~~~~~~
 
 indexterm:[staff client, logging in]
@@ -9,12 +34,6 @@ indexterm:[staff client, logging in]
 . The default URL to log into the client is _https://localhost/eg/staff/login_
 . Enter your _Username_ and _Password_.
 . Verify that the correct workstation is selected and click *Sign In*.
-[NOTE]
-Although workstation registration is not required in the web client, it is
-highly recommended that you register the workstation for all web client features
-to work correctly. If you have not yet registered a workstation, you need to log
-in with the workstation field unset, then answer the prompts to register and use
-a new workstation.
 
 [[browser_defaults]]
 Setting Browser Defaults for Web Client
@@ -51,5 +70,6 @@ of the window.
 . Select *Log Out*
 
 [CAUTION]
-Exiting the browser will not log you out of the web client. 
+Exiting all browser windows will automatically log you out of the web client. If
+you only close the tab where the web client is loaded, you will remain logged in.