LP1796225: Only auto-focus search on the home page
authorJane Sandberg <sandbej@linnbenton.edu>
Sat, 6 Oct 2018 12:52:09 +0000 (05:52 -0700)
committerGalen Charlton <gmc@equinoxinitiative.org>
Mon, 18 Feb 2019 18:59:07 +0000 (13:59 -0500)
For a11y and usability, it's better to autofocus form fields
only when they are the main purpose of a page.

To test:
1) In the public catalog, visit the search results, record view,
library details, basket, and password reset pages.  Notice that
the cursor leaps to the search bar in each of these pages.
2) Apply this commit.
3) Re-visit all those pages.  Notice that the cursor no longer
leaps to the search bar.
4) Visit the home page of the public catalog.  Notice that the
cursor still leaps to the search bar on this page only.

Signed-off-by: Jane Sandberg <sandbej@linnbenton.edu>
Signed-off-by: Terran McCanna <tmccanna@georgialibraries.org>
Signed-off-by: Galen Charlton <gmc@equinoxinitiative.org>
Open-ILS/src/templates/opac/parts/searchbar.tt2

index 1b6b7cf..d86bd7d 100644 (file)
@@ -62,7 +62,7 @@ END;
                 store_args='{"org_unit_getter": function() { return [% ctx.search_ou %]; }}'
                 [%-     END # opac_visible -%]
                 [%- ELSE -%]
-                    [% IF basic_search != "f" %] autofocus [% END %] x-webkit-speech
+                    [% IF basic_search != "f" AND is_home_page %] autofocus [% END %] x-webkit-speech
                 [%- END # autosuggest enabled %] />
             </label>
         </span>